Authentication framework: closing the circle (+ screencast)


As I promised more than a week ago, today I’ll show you the progress done with the authentication framework, starting with signing a plasmoid with PlasMate, uploading that plasmoid and its signature to opendesktop.org within PlasMate, and retrieve it with the Widget Explorer  “Download widget dialog”.

Originally, I planned to show a more detailed screencast but, for an unfortunate serie of events, I started playing on a full functional opendesktop testserver just yesterday afternoon. However here it is the screencast, splitted in two pieces. Alas, I noticed too late that the screencast took so much time (the first part lasts about 14 minutes O.o, but you can skip the last 7 minutes because I’m repeatedly signing and sending some plasmoids on the server to show later the authentication process).  By the way, I hope you’ll enjoy these videos:

Part 1 (.ogv version):

[blip.tv ?posts_id=4019829&dest=-1]

Part 2 (.ogv version):

[blip.tv ?posts_id=4019854&dest=-1]

Cool, isn’t it? 🙂

However, this is only the beginning: as I mentioned in my previous post, the KNewStuff maintainer (fregl) wants to extend that authenticatiom mechanism for every package exchanged with KNS, so I need to move the library from plasma libs to a more suitable place (perhaps kdelibs?). There is some work to do also in the Attica library, because the opendesktop specification describes multiple signatures and fingerprints (because of the collaboration stuff), and I did only a basic implementation in order to see if everything worked as expected. The KNewStuff3 download dialog needs some love too, because the detailed up to now shows only a string with the signer name and the trust level for each plasmoid; I didn’t implemented a widget with start ratings for the following reasons:

  • there is already a starred rating widget, used for the users rating:  showing two widgets with different star ratings will confuse the user in my opinion, so I opted for visualizing a simple text ;
  • lack of time 😛

The grid view is even more complex, because the same informations are condensed in less space, so I need to figure out how to show in a proper way also the authentication information.

PlasMate needs a lot of love too, and I realized it when playing on its code again; perhaps, after this summer of code, I’ll start on rewriting its internals and clean up the code.

That’s all, for now. Stay tuned 😉

5 responses to “Authentication framework: closing the circle (+ screencast)

    • Si lo so che quel pulsante è un obbrobrio; l’avevo inserito, durante i miei test, per evitare di scrollare avanti ed indietro l’intera widget per poter visualizzare i rating… alla lunga diventava davvero stressante 😛
      Poi alla fine ho deciso di lasciarlo per vedere che commenti suscitava, quindi grazie per il suggerimento 🙂
      take care !

      Like

Leave a Reply

